HOME | OPINIE


Przewijaj w dol.   Kliknij [show] aby przeczytac opinie naszych klientw

Przeslij nam swoja opinie na adres info@trekinetic.pl

Wendy z Surrey
Kalifornia


Death Valley, California

‘The chair was brilliant – very comfortable

Jose (12lat)
Hiszpania


Exploring the Pyrenees with my mum

Denis z Lancashire

 

Picture the scene, 1.5 miles of footpaths and off-road surfaces, one state of the art 'chair, family helpers
(if needed), lovely weather and me, Denis, useless on
my legs and getting on a bit. The mission for me was to check out the claims of the K-2, is it what it says it is or
is it an expensive piece of art for the conservatory,
time was about to tell.

I'm fast approaching 58, I'm an ex-fire fighter who came of worse when riding my bicycle when a car decided to get a really close look me by hitting me head on, that was 12 years ago and 12 years ago was the last time I was able to 'walk' on these same paths. One day a couple of months ago I saw someone using a very strange looking wheelchair which put my nice blue four wheel one into shame,I had to know more and aided by Google I found the K-2.

Now I'm not one to spend money if I don't have to so I was almost in a coma when I saw the price "How much? I can buy a car for that", how on earth is it ever worth so much? You can talk about carbon fibre and mono whatever construction until the cows come home, lean and mean bar changing the camber and Dyna-Brakes, but the true test is does it work? So I set off with my most cycnical head on to
prove that the conservatory is where it belongs, footpaths and muddy bridleways are for two legged humanoids not the likes of me who've swapped legs for wheels.

For those of you who know central Lancashire I was at Rivington, and I was attempting to go from the Rivington Primary School car park to the Lower Barn thenup to the Top Barn, which would mean muddy paths for around half
a mile then dry but lumpy footpaths for half a mile up a steep climb to the Top Barn, then half mile back down on 
a stony bridleway. The test was set and I was ready,
I had brought my family with me to push, pull and tug
 the 'chair as it would almost certainly fail stranding me somewhere cold and icy.

First things first, the 'chair looks good, I mean space age good, it throws the old design books out of the window by only having three wheels, meaning you are stable wherever you are, it places the big wheels at the front,again obvious, why this hasn't been done before is a mystery, the best inventions are so obvious when you think about it!

I set off, and the first thing I noticed was how fast it
was and how responsive it was, and using the brakes for steering takes some practice or you'll make 360 degree turns without thinking or planning to! It was easy to push the wheels around as you are slightly behind the drive wheels, using of the powerful chest muscles and pushing
instead of pulling upwards. Due to the three wheel set up
it was always driving and never finding itself 'beached'.
I easily managed the first leg, in fact I had to stop
while my family caught up!!      

Now the true test, half a mile upwards on unmade paths, then .5 mile down a bumpy stony bridleway, something I last did 12 years ago, I was confident in my strength but would the 'chair deliver, would it prove it's worth or was it a
conservatory talking point? It went up the hill easily, the only downside was my strength,it was no match for the 'chair by not allowing me to experience the 'chair to it's utmost, the drive and stabilty were fantastic. 

 I smiled as I went downhill after the climb, I also had secret little cry as my mind was showing me the other paths and bridleways I could use once again.
I read that it works well on the beach, on mud, and across fields and I don't doubt it. My cynical mind was firmly put in it's place, the 'chair works, but is it worth the money?
In my opinion it's worth every penny, my horizons have been fantastically widened and my smile put back where it once was! Not withstanding that when using the road wheels it really comes into it's own as the best ever 'chair for pavement and town use.

Would I buy one, you bet, my order's in and my deposit paid. This 'chair must be the easiest sell any salesman could make, it sells itself, literally. my local dealer is 'All Terrain Mobility Solutions' (Bolton ), when I went there I was loaned a 'chair for a long weekend and told to use it wherever I could get to, and I did, and it worked, no pressure, no salespatter, no well rehearsed pitch. The one draw back is the 10-12 week waiting time for delivery, I want one now, releasing my from my four wheeled 'chair into the best all terrain chair built anywhere by anyone.

 

Denis
Lancashire
2nd December 2011

Michele
z Lancashire 

 

Michele is a frequent world traveller. She uses her Trekinetic K-2 extensively and as her everyday chair. Follow her adventures, including what happened when her chair got damaged by a careless airline in Canada, on her fantastic blog here.

http://mnel.wordpress.com/

Tip: Scroll back through all the older posts
(at bottom of page) and start at the beginning. Then it will make more sense!

There are also entries and comments from other K-2 owner's here


  

 

Carcans-Plage 2

Sarlat 3

Cognac

Peter, Jagu & Family, Goa, Indie

 

Bryan z Massachusetts, USA

 

Chair is amazing!!! No problems.
I'm so glad i went with my gut and ordered one of your chairs. The chair showed up today and looked like it had not been touched. Nothing damaged and everything looks great. I've only had it for a few hours and can tell i'm going to love it.  I will be taking it up to the lake for the 4th of July and really testing this puppy out. I really think this chair will open options i thought before were out of the question. I can't explain to you how happy mom and i are that we went with Trekinetic!!!

Paul (zapalony wedkarz) ze Stafford

 

 

Keith z Buckinghamshire,
w Meksyku i Barbados

 

Keith (mouth painting artist)
from Buckinghamshire,
in Mexico and Barbados



See Keith’s work on
www.keithjansz.com


Ben z Holandii

 

Richard z Anglii, 
w Afryce 

 

Richards website is here. Read his fair minded and reasoned comparison with various other off road wheelchairs he tested for his African trip.

http://harris.gb.net/Blog/blog.php/2010/05/trekinetic-vs-team-hybrid-clip-on-handcycle/

Peter & Joan
Sussex


Peter and Joan are married with a young family.
Joan has MS and is mostly pushed
by her husband Peter.

They live in Sussex, UK and opted
to reply independently.


5

Joan – the Passenger

I suffer from MS. I was diagnosed in 2001 and I have
been dependant upon a wheelchair for around 3 years.
I was given my first wheelchair by the NHS Wheelchair
Service in Chichester. I was offered a choice of standard wheelchairs.

I quickly became aware of the difficulties associated with using traditional wheelchairs. When my husband, Peter, who had been working abroad, saw and pushed the wheelchair
he was horrified and worked on effecting a change for the better which (as I had seen what was available), I did not believe was possible.  Peter saw the Trekinetic wheelchair in John Bell & Croyden, in London, gave me the leaflet and looked for a distributor on the Internet. We made an
appointment and went up to see the chair at Hewardine
in Egham, Surrey, our nearest distributor. I ordered it immediately.

Luckily I had seen wheelchairs en masse before and knew to stick to my guns as the dealers are very good at pointing out everything else!But there was nothing like it. 
I held the vision of where I wanted to go - the Cuckmere Valley – which none of the other wheelchairs could do
as they all seem to be built for shopping trips. We took delivery of the Trekinetic All Terrain  2 months ago.
We sound like a high energy family but only want to do the normal things that families do. We have two sons Paul 14 and James 13. The most overwhelming things I have done, which nearly made me cry were when my carer and I went for a walk outside the back gate and were surrounded by trees on a country track; on a walk with friends on the estate woods and fields; then last week when we went to the Woodland Fair at Bentley Wildfowl Trust near Lewes. We could never have roamed the fields and marquees in a traditional chair. While there we talked to a spinal injuries wheelchair user who highlighted his difficulties with traditional wheelchairs.

 6

I also get lots of compliments about the chair. I find it very powerful to talk to other wheelchair users about the chair and the possibilities it opens up for them as it has already done for me.  Being in a wheelchair shuts the door on life, which the Trekinetic opens up again. 

Peter – the Pusher

Until 3 years ago I had not given the practical aspects of wheelchair design a second thought. Necessity has forced me and our helper to struggle with the shortcomings of wheelchair design. The small wheels at the front continually
get caught in every minor pothole in the pavement causing the chair to come to a sudden halt which sends shudders through the arms of the pusher and is extremely
uncomfortable for the passenger. At times my wife has almost been thrown out of the chair.

Gravel, cobbles, unmade up tracks and roads present no problems for the Trekinetic – it has opened up a whole new world for us. We can now go for country walks and on the beach as a family. Before Trekinetic we either couldn’t go or would have to leave my wife behind. As the pusher I
find the Trekinetic All Terrain much easier to control than a traditional chair as it is light and glides along with the lightest touch. We have just had the umbrella fitting added to the handles at the back. This means that the umbrella keeps not only the passenger dry but the pusher too.
Not only does the design and appearance of the chair lift my wife’s spirits, it makes me feel good too. I don’t feel I am pushing a disabled person anymore.

It’s great.

Tekinetic has done for wheelchairs what the mountain
bike did for bicycles. We drive a large estate car –
a Saab 9.5 –  although our other wheelchair folded flat,
 it occupied the whole boot space making it imposible
to carry the shopping or luggage. The Trekinetic fits
neatly in a little more than half the available boot space. We have space for the shopping or luggage or Spot
(our now happy Cocker Spaniel).

Max z
Londynu          


I like the design and how this reflects on the user
(i.e. it’s not medical and it looks like I’m someone
who cares about the way things appear). Added to this,
it goes places which are difficult to tackle in a traditional manual wheelchair.

Max from London

It has made an incredible difference to my life.
It has enabled me to go places I wouldn’t have
easily been able to go otherwise – beaches, mud paths,
gravel drives, etc. It has also enabled me to travel much
more easily – e.g. recently we went to Lisbon, which
is full of cobbles and hills. Equally importantly,
it allows my personality to be expressed more accurately
(i.e. I transcend being ‘just another disabled person
in a wheelchair’).

Max from London Max from London

Max is an expert in marketing, with specialist
knowledge of disability matters.
He heads 'Good the Agency' (www.goodtheagency.biz).

Sandy i John ze Szkocji

 

Sandy and John live in the North East. Before Sandy was
diagnosed with MS, they were both keen hill walkers.
When new K-2 owner Sandy, told us she was going to go on an epic,8 day trek, across the Great Glen Way Scotland, we were delighted

3

 The 75 miles, all off road and all ‘unsuitable for wheelchairs’
was not to be taken lightly. We supplied them with spare inner tubes and a spare rear wheel, which can be attached with cable ties. Despite an uncharted course for a K-2, they completed it all on time and we would like to know whether this is a first for a manual wheelchair.
They did have a puncture to the rear tyre, caused by a stiff thorn, but that was easily changed by John. That was the only real problem and now the K-2 permanently stays in their car, covered with mud awaiting the next adventure.

Here is a selection of pictures they sent us
from their fantastic journey.

Fort William to Gairlochy - Gairlochy to S. Laggan

Fort William to Gairlochy – who says it always rains in Scotland

Gairlochy to S. Laggan

Gairlochy to S. Laggan

Ft Augustus to Invermoriston

1

3

2

Invermorrison to Drum – Drum to Inverness -

7
Drum to Inverness – The finish!


Well done Sandy and John, spectacular effort

James z Watford        

 

The Trekinetic is an awful lot faster than a standard wheelchair and a lot better once you get off paved surfaces as well.

I'm always camping, fishing and kayaking and I'd never get to some of the places I go without it. In a conventional wheelchair you are always looking down at the ground, taking care to spot possible obstacles such as stones or tree roots, but in the Trekinetic, you don't need to bother.

James From Watford - Reviews

The drum brakes are great for holding the chair back and steering it when going downhill.

The chair is good at getting over kerbs, as well; with the large wheels at the front, you don't need to use the "wheelie" technique you would in a normal wheelchair to
get the small wheels over the kerb.

It also helps break down a lot of barriers. People won't normally approach someone in a wheelchair but everywhere you go in the Trekinetic, it leaves a wake of turned heads and quite a few people come up to ask you about it. At the Isle of Wight Festival last year, I could hardly move because of the interest in it. I for one wouldn't go back to using a conventional wheelchair."

Simon z
Londynu

 

Simon from london - reviews

Having MS one of the several things I miss is being able to
walk any distance, especially in the country.

Having found this remarkable wheelchair by surfing the web
there are very few places I and my wife cannot now go.

For anybody like me with good upper body strength
this wheelchair/mountain bike hybrid is ideal.

The other thing I’ve noticed is the amount of attention an interest from able bodied people including comments about style, not what you would normally expect.

As a lady I met the other day said she thought it was great
except there was nowhere to put a handbag.

The three wheel arrangement is remarkably agile even in reverse. (Tested in John Lewis glass department at Bluewater )

It is as fun to use on firm sandy paths as it is chasing around Ikea, not to mention the superb old quaysides of the Garonne in Bordeaux, as the pictures.

Dealing with Mike Spindle is a real pleasure especially as when doing my own adjustments and servicing he has always been extremely helpful.

Having seen the new GT-3 I have to admit it is very tempting (Anyone interested in a low mileage K2 !)

Jane z Yorkshire

 

Travels with my Trekinetic

I have had my Trekinetic K-2for 7 months now
and cannot imagine life without it !

I have just returned from a 6 week trip to New Zealand
and Australia to visit family and friends and my
Trekinetic went too. I informed the airline of the
dimensions and weight and told them it did not fold (following the advice from Trekinetic, that it was less
likely to get damaged that way).

The day after we arrived in Auckland I went out in it
and realised the Trekinetic's Dyna -Brake sysyem was
not working correctly, so my husband had a look and
found one of the brake levers had been slightly bent (presumably by airline staff and despite the chair
having been covered in "fragile" stickers).

An email to Trekinetic, back in the UK had a prompt reply and a few days later spare parts arrived which my
husband was able to fit . . . this was an amazing
service and I was so grateful as otherwise my whole
holiday would have been ruined.

The Trekinetic went everywhere with me . . . from an open-air picnic and concert, to the beach, rough tracks and a whirlwind few days in Sydney (sorry no photos of me in front of the Opera House as I was in the wheelchair and forgot to hand the camera to my husband !)

It enabled me to go almost everywhere I wanted and caused comment wherever we went. Often it is the young people who remark . . ." cool wheels !" . . . or something similar, and my 3 year old great-niece had races with me (which I had to let her win !! ).

This was my first trip abroad since my accident 2 years
ago and having tackled a trip to the other side of the
world I now know that I can still travel and enjoy myself and thanks to my Trekinetic I will not be confined to city streets.

Also here's some more pics of me
abit nearer (and colder) to home!

Coming trough the early morning mist

Using Trekinetic's Dyna-Brake system
to control my down hill descent

No pain no gain!

Anita z Holandii

 

1

A person says: "Too much beauty in this picture;
but I love each of its intriguing components".

2
 Another one says:
"Sweet pup - Great to be able to get around like that". 

Having MS, one of the several things I miss is being able
to walk any distance, especially in the country....

The K2 is a cool wheelchair, a new world opens!!
Also for our Jack Russell.

3

We komen nu op plaatsen waar een conventional (wheelchair)
rolstoel niet kan komen. Te gek....

(We are now in places where a conventional
(wheelchair) wheelchair can not come.
It's crazy ....)

The K2 is perfect!!

Heidi z Perth,
Zachodnia Australia

 

Hello from Down Under!

02

 Since breaking my back 5 years ago, I have looked high and low for a chair capable of the lifestyle I lead. That is, I'm in to extreme sports and the great outdoors. I spend my time between the beach or in the bush, hacking through sand, mud and vegetation. Oh and camping by a fire at night, again mostly in sand, this is Australia!

04  

 This machine has made my life hell of a lot easier,
and my partner loves it to it's less hard work for him!
 The great thing is that there's no castors at the
front to get in the way, it means I don't have to
balance on the back wheels over everything.

   06

It will pretty much go anywhere! - well within reason!!
 Once you get the hang of the drum brakes you can do
some awesome skids and spin going down hill on gravel.
Beware though, I have had some amazing and funny
(for everyone else) wipeouts!!.

08

Dennis z Sydney, Australia

 

 I’m Dennis Cooper – I’m the Australian distributor for Trekinetic and I also have a passion for skiing.

I thought it would be interesting to see how the new ‘wonder machine’ performs on the snow and I think I'm
the first person to try this, so you might find this interesting reading.

1

 Three years ago (when I was walking), my wife and I, plus the kids – (then aged 4 and 7); all left the slopes on the last day as a skiing family – I was so proud, the kids looked so great. We went again recently for my 61st birthday, this time for me to sit-ski. I was a bit cautious at first and because I wanted to sus things out, I didn’t take my K2: I took my conventional chair – ‘big mistake’.
 
Day 1.
 As soon as I got out the door and hit the snow I was stuck. Couldn’t move, forward or backwards and just
wheel spun ‘til my wife came to give me a push. 

Day 2 and beyond.
 I took the K2 and as soon as I got on to the snow, the difference was immediately obvious and I didn’t even have Trekinetic’s (currently under development) metal studded snow tyres on!  

I was independent once more.

2

 So much so that as soon as I got on the snow
I just took off, I couldn’t help it.

 I was oblivious to everything except snowball fights with the kids and racing around all over the place with lots of fast turns and making tracks in the snow. 
I was so into it that I didn't notice behind me, at the meeting point for all the disabled skiers who were all getting organized for their particular lessons, gear, etc . . . and they were all staring at me wide eyed.
 
 Obviously it caused quite a stir, not only amongst the skiers but more so amongst the guides and instructors - many of whom come from a snow environment or use it frequently.  My instructor, a Swiss female, was very keen to get information for her and her counterparts, because she saw a definite need for one 'back home'. 

3

About Sit skiing

Sit skiing is hard at first, balance is so critical.  More so for me I think because although a paraplegic I also have scoliosis with a pelvic twist, so I had to pack foam wedges under one side of the seat. That’s the great thing for me about the K2; is that because I don’t have any waist muscles and it has a moulded seat, I sit ‘in’  the chair
as opposed to floating ‘on top of it’ and, believe it or not, I have much less pain at the end of the day.

The first day, even though I was on dual skis, I fell more than 30 times, but I didn’t care, and by the second day
I was on a mono ski and skiing on my own -
of course I raced the kids!

Speaking of racing the kids; I don’t have a choice; weather we are out on the grass, beach or snow; weather they are on their bikes, scooters, skates or walking you know kids,
and it’s always the same. “Come on dad” is all they say
and off we go!

4

5

 Well, my conventional wheelchair is a dinosaur compared to the K2. I liken it to when I had the use of my legs and used to come home to my slippers, now that’s how I view my conventional wheelchair, great for in the house but not much use outdoors!

6

A large amount of organisations are mistaken in their requirements, in that for a place to be ‘wheelchair accessible’ or ‘wheelchair friendly’ for instance, requires only disabled parking, no obstructions and a special bathroom. Unfortunately this view is not one that is
truly shared by wheelchair users.

Obstacles and ‘hurdles’, not apparent to an able-bodied person, such as - cracks in the pavement/potholes; hills, up or down; anything that is not a flat, hard surface; grass; mud; roots; gravel; pebbles; sand; silt; wet or slippery surfaces; ice and snow, etc; all create great concerns to someone reliant on a wheelchair for
mobility and who wants to avoid face plants at all costs.

There is however, I am happy to announce, one wheelchair that handles all theseobstacles easily and efficiently,
not only from the users point of view; but that of the
carer (read ‘pusher’) point of view.  Not only does it
handle these ‘hurdles’ superbly, but they provide a
natural and refreshing relief, with less effort and by
also using a different set of muscles.

7

Wet, muddy soccer fields use to be a no-go zone before
I had my K2, now I can enjoy my family outings no
matter where we go.

After two years of establishing the Trekinetic K-2 here in Australia, we are really starting to make inroads with this revolutionary machine. It is really something you owe to yourself to at least experience. If anyone in Australia
would like to do just that, simply e-mail me on
trekineticaus@optusnet.com.au
and I’d be delighted to let you try one of our demonstrators.

Be warned though - your current wheelchair
will feel strange, when you return to it!

Reverend David w Indiach    

 

In Sept’ 1988 I had a car crash, broke my neck and my back and was paralyzed from chest down for four years. I was subsequently (and ironically) diagnosed with a degenerative spinal condition which was inoperable – and even though I had eventually gained the use of my legs, would very soon lose the ability to walk. As most of my disabled friends have done, I ignored the consultant’s prognosis of being wheelchair bound within a year and managed, with a great deal of determination and no small amount of stubbornness, to get about using crutches and walking sticks for another fourteen years. 

7
Rev Dave!

8
The Taj Mahal

9
The Maharajas Palace, Jaipur

It was only in 2003/4 that I had to accept that occasional use of a wheelchair was necessary and began to discover that ‘one size fits all’ was not a suitable maxim! As an ex semi-pro weight lifter and rugby player, I do not have, by any stretch of the imagination, a svelte-like physique!  My figure is what in more elegant, (eloquent), genteel times, would have been referred to as ‘portly’. Today’s more no-nonsense, ‘call a spade a spade’ (or a shovel) society, would simply label me as either ‘stocky’ if being considerate, or chubby if not. As I gazed at my reflection in the mirror, I remember with great clarity, a dietitian’s instruction to me, that I should stand naked in front of a mirror and jump up and down. “Anything that wobbles, that God didn’t INTEND to wobble, comes off”! she gravely and somewhat alarmingly announced. I now sit back, behind my desk, a comfortable 16.5 stone (I never did manage to metricate myself!) and accept that the Good Lord made us in all shapes, sizes and colours so who are we to try and change that!?

Wheelchairs of various shapes and antiquarian design were displayed to me with much aplomb . . . seemingly proud of the utilitarian, depressing designs that gave no thought to style, fashion or aesthetics!

The contraptions all shouted “Look at me‌. I am a disabled person”. I HATED them with a passion! The restrictive, thin (and extremely hard) wheels were clumsy and awkward to use; the lack of suspension meant every fragile bone in my spine was jarred to the point of me screaming to stop! The ridiculously impractical guide wheels at the front, refused to go over the smallest stone or obstacle and the vinyl seat felt like a rather cheap deckchair! And as for the institutional design . . .

Then, like Willy Wonka, opening the last golden chocolate ticket, I found the Trekinetic website! I was traveling to India in five weeks and to be honest, wasn’t relishing the prospect of managing with crutches alone. I spoke to Mike and then to Errol (Trekinetic’s West London agent) and within 48 hours, was sitting in one of their chairs, taking my first tentative 'steps' around their showroom.

In 2000 I was ordained a priest and work in Southampton as a ‘Community Minister’. This involves spending time with people sleeping rough, those with drug and alcohol dependency, the homeless, sex workers, and the disenfranchised. Access to inhospitable venues is often necessary and crutches are not the easiest tool to help when one is trying to squeeze down narrow alleyways in the dead of night!

My home is on the edge of the New Forest, a real joy for those who enjoy outdoor pursuits, walking etc; The unadopted and rather pot holed road that leads down to Southampton water (alongside my home) was always a bit of a test of both endurance and temper! I live within 25 metres of a wildlife sanctuary and reserve which has always been unavailable to me . . . conventional wheelchairs sank into the damp woodchip paths and left me stranded within minutes.

The Trekinetic isn’t phased by such obstacles. With it’s wheels set to splay (MEAN) and it’s off road tyres almost floating over the surface, I managed to keep up with friends as we enjoyed the pleasures of the open countryside.  The chair deals admirably with gravel, woodchip bark, cobble stones, ceramic floors, tarmac (complete with obligatory pot holes!), compacted soil, slate shards and grass.

10
The ruins at Hampi

11
Downtown Cochin

I have spent every autumn and winter in India for the past 14 years. I was beginning to think that I would have to sell up and return to the UK . . . India is not the most disabled friendly country. Roads are full of ruts and pot holes, pavements are uneven and badly maintained. The Trekinetic performed like a real Star! It was dismantled innumerable times and thrown into train baggage compartments, aircraft holds, taxi trunks (and frequently left assembled and ‘displayed’ on the roof of taxis!) It has trundled very contentedly across rough, stony paths surrounding the magnificent ruins of Hampi; it’s sache’d across the manicured lawns outside the Taj Mahal; it’s wandered around in an almost dream like state, through the rich decorations of the Maharaja’s Palace in Jaipur and raced friends across the white sandy beaches of Goa, down to the azure blue sea; it’s bumped and rattled over the 1,000 year old cobbles of Cochin’s ‘ famous Jew’s Street and endured incessant honking of horns and shouts of abuse from bus drivers and taxis as it’s rolled down roads in Mumbai and Delhi.

On the way home, I was waiting at Bombay Airport and this tall, softly spoken Scottish man came up to me and said "Wow, that's the first Formula One wheelchair, I've ever seen" ! I didn't think too much of it, one gets used to all kinds of comments regarding Trekinetic. A little later, whilst talking to another ‘admirer’, he happened to say “What did David Coulthard have to say about the chair?!” I confess that my knowledge of Formula One stretches to James Hunt, Graham Hill, Stirling Moss and of course the great hope for British F1 the young Hamilton . . . so whether or not I had been talking to the great man himself, I am not sure. If however, it was you Mr Coulthard, may I suggest you contact Trekinetic . . . I am sure they could do wonders in revitalizing your Formula One ratings!!!

Wherever we (my chair and I) have gone, we have turned heads . . . some questioning whether it is indeed a wheelchair! I never imagined that something as prosaic as a wheelchair could indeed become a fashion accessory, but I think that is exactly what has happened to Trekinetic!!!!! This year my Indian travels will be taking me to Mumbai, Kolkota, Chennai (Madras) Pondicherry, Bangalore and Goa. I am not remotely phased by such an itinerary.....my trusty Trekinetic will ensure that my disability doesn't prevent me from what has of late become a passion - travel. My partner and carer Tony is also looking forward to being able to explore for more than twenty minutes at a time, (to allow for 'coffee/rest breaks') - it's more likely now that HE will need the respite, rather than me!

12
DC at the office!

23
Sunset at Goa

The staff, Mike, Errol et al’ have all been fantastic. They are not just manufacturers/retailers of a product . . . they really CARE about their creation AND their customers. The frequent newsletters/e mails and the occasional phone calls mean a great deal (to me) and make a big difference. I return to India the end of November (Mike and his team are ‘servicing’ my trusty ‘steed’ as we speak) and do so, safe in the knowledge that there will be little or no obstacles to me enjoy the diversity of such a magnificent country.

Like most disabled people I guess, I experienced a certain amount of depression when I was initially diagnosed and the depressing prognosis became a reality; however Trekinetic has changed all that. I can be (and will be) as mobile as any able bodied person. There will be very few, if any, physical obstructions that will prevent me from enjoying even the most rigorous adventures.

It was be crass to say ‘Trekinetic has changed my life’, but it has certainly transformed it and given it a whole new sense of purpose and excitement. Thank you Trekinetic!
(Rev Canon David E***)  
Some  photos are library items.. 

John z Hampshire

 

 

Podrzuj z Trekinetic

 

This article kindly reproduced from the October 2007 edition of FORWARD, the magazine of the Spinal Injuries Association and is also published in the October 2007 newsletter of The Disabled Ramblers Association

Have Chair - Will Travel (Anywhere)


Dr Mike Bruton, Chairman and Founder of the Disabled Ramblers Association, and Lynn Punchard Editor of Forward have asked me to test and review, the recently introduced manual wheelchair, the Trekinetic K-2.

For me one of the most inappropriate phrases in the English language is wheelchair-bound. My wheelchair, or to be more accurate, wheelchairs, do not bind me they liberate me. I have one wheelchair that is great in an outdoor urban environment, but it is hopeless off road because of its
small casters and not good in an indoor environment because of its large camber which makes it too wide for many doors. I have a purpose designed and built cross-country wheelchair that is great off road but very unsuitableindoors and finally I have a chair with no camber that is good indoors.

This, horses for courses wheelchair policy is all very well if you can afford it, have sufficient storage room and can transfer easily from chair to chair. The K-2 has been designed to be an adaptable wheelchair suitable for both the urban and off road environment, a horse for all courses!

rt

The Trekinetic K-2


Manual wheelchairs have improved dramatically over the last 30 years. This improvement has been gradual, progressive and evolutionary: the introduction of rigid frames, cambers, lightweight materials etc. However the basic design of rear wheel drive, a tubular frame with two
large wheels at the rear and two smaller casters at the front has remained.

The K-2 was designed by an engineer with a background in designing components for Formula One racing cars. Its design is revolutionary. No tubular frame but a Carbon Fibre bucket seat that acts as a ‘Monocoque’ chassis. Not rear wheel drive, but front wheel drive with two large wheels
at the front and a smaller one at the rear.

The camber of the wheels is adjustable from parallel to up to 24 degrees by simply rotating the axle; thus giving the stability of cambered wheels for outside use, or the narrowness of parallel wheels for indoor use. The rear castor has a patented device that keeps it in a straight line when wheeling forward, even when crossing a slope, thus obviating the need for constant one arm pushing to keep in a straight line. The rear castor has a shock absorber which can be used to alter the inclination of the chair depending on preference and circumstances of use. The footplate is telescopic. The K-2 comes with hub brakes that can be used for slowing, steering or parking. There are removable side plates to protect clothing and even an umbrella that fixes to the chair.

A number of extras are available including rear push bar, water bottle, seatbelt and transfer platforms. I have tried the chair off road on a gravel track, a dirt track and grass of varying lengths. I have used it along my high street, in an office, the supermarket, Starbucks and in my local leisure centre. The K-2 coped with all these variable environments perfectly well.

The chair does take a little getting used to. The angle of pushing is different to a standard wheelchair and requires a slightly different muscle action. I thought the rolling resistance better than a standard chair despite my chair having large very knobbly mountain bike tyres. I found that I could push the chair up steeper inclines than in my own wheelchairs; this seems to be because of the ability to
brace oneself against the back of the chair when pushing hard. The chair is stable, probably because of its low centre of gravity. The rear castor arrangement makes
it virtually impossible to tip backwards, the telescopic footplate doubles as an anti-tip bar in the front and a camber if activated increases lateral stability. The bucket seat chair provides good lateral support to the trunk.

The chair I tried was fitted with large aggressively treaded mountain bike tyres. These were excellent off road particularly on wet grass. However they made the
wheels heavy and increased rolling resistance. I would like to have tried the chair with a compromise tyre, one that was smooth in the middle but heavily treaded on
the outside. The manufacturer tells me they are able to offer, as an optional extra,a spare set of wheels with smooth tyres. It would be very interesting to see how easy the K-2 was to push if it was fitted with lightweight, narrow, high pressure tyres.

The K-2 comes with thin seat liners. These would not be suitable for most spinal-cord injured users as they would offer little protection from pressure sores. However specially shaped Roho and foam cushions are available.

With the wheels removed and the frame folded the
chair forms a fairly compact load approximately
880 x 400 x 620 mm. weighing approximately 9 kg

rt

The K-2 is beautifully engineered and is by far the most versatile wheelchair I have ever used. It is the only wheelchair I have ever come across that, without
attaching any adaptions, is perfectly at home on road,
off road and indoors.

In conclusion I would say that the Trekinetic K-2 is the ideal chair for someone who wants a chair that they can use for the normal activities of daily living and go off road.

For further details click here

For details about wheelchair rambling see http://www.disabledramblers.co.uk/

Related links
http://www.spinal.co.uk/| http://www.disabledramblers.co.uk/

Comment by Mike Spindle, designer of the Trekinetic K-2.

When Roger contacted me and said he had been asked
by FORWARD, to test our wheelchair, he also invited me
to come down and see what the Disabled Ramblers Association was all about. I was pleased to accept and
the event was scheduled for a Friday morning, near Lymington in the New Forest.

 I brought a K-2 for Roger and an identical one for myself, in the hope that nobody would mind me joining in. In the event, when I got there, Roger was stuck in traffic and would not arrive until lunch time. There were about 20
wheelchair users and all had 4 wheel, powered electric buggies. Anyhow I was the only manual user and when
they said I should lead, I was not amused and wondered if I had bitten off more than I could chew. I should
stress that I am not a wheelchair user, by need. I weigh 16 stone and sadly not very fit at all. Naturally over the last six years, I’ve done over 100 miles of testing, but I don’t think 9 miles with little more than a lunch break.  
Anyhow, I could hardly say no, could I? It was a perfect day, sunny but not hot, so we set off up a gentle gravel gradient. I was with one of the organisers
and he had an electric TRAMPER buggy, like many of the others. The TRAMPER’S coped with the terrain very well and if you at the stage where you need a powered buggy, they would seem a good choice. The only difficulty they
had was when we approached the sprung loaded gates, that you often encounter on these rambles. As manuals can turn on a sixpence, they are easier to position and consequently, I opened all the gates (in chair) and let everyone through. The terrain, scenery and wildlife is simply beautiful and whilst they can’t guarantee the weather, they can the views. 

 Thankfully after about ¾ mile there, was a break that I needed, more than the others. In actual fact I didn’t feel so bad at all, but I was perspiring a lot. It was vital for me, that I was carrying a water bottle, otherwise I would have been in trouble.  I was really pleased with how the K-2 performed and I thought of another improvement along the way. The K-2 has drop-in side plates, not too dissimilar to a traditional wheelchair. They are designed to keep your clothes away from the rotating wheels and protect you from dirt. They do not hold you legs together.

  It struck me that if we had a slot in the top of each of the side plate, the user could thread a ‘Velco’ loop strap and pull it tight. This would keep your thighs centrally located and might be useful. We are now prototyping this.  
After 4½ miles we reached the lunch halt at a local sailing club and after alittle while roger and his wife finally turned up. Raring to go Roger set off and for a little while we travelled side by side. He observed that the unconventional
front wheel propulsion of the K-2 , doesn’t make you look down when you push.He said you can remain looking forwards whilst propelling, something you have to
crane your neck to do with a traditional rear wheel drive chair. It was the first time anyone, had observed this.

roadtest

So you can’t teach an old dog new tricks?

Roger (foreground) and I discuss the Disabled Ramblers Associations plans and activities. Actually I was exhausted and requested the stop.

Time was now pressing as Roger and his wife had to be somewhere else shortly so Roger pressed. I take no pleasure in telling you, that I simply could not keep up with this ‘Old Dog’ In the end I threw in the towel and pushed my own K-2 for the final 1 1/2 mile stint. I was pleased to finally see the car a park, which was conveniently adjacent to the Gunn Inn. By the way, great crab sandwiches
and Beer in Keyhaven, Lymington.

I would like to thank the Disabled Ramblers Association, for allowing me to partake in their day. It was great to meet everybody and I can only encourage anybody who has a K-2 to join them for one of their outings. Quite honestly, there is nothing about it not to like.

They can provide the K-2’s natural habitat! http://www.disabledramblers.co.uk/